What Does WTW Mean On Snapchat?

Snapchat has been around for many years now and each year I think what will Snapchat do next to up its game? I got my answer when someone asked me “what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat.” I was initially taken aback but later realized that Snapchat will do anything to stay at the top of the game.

So, what could Snapchat have done to raise the bar again, it decided to upgrade the Snapchat Story feature. Introducing shared stories and private stories gave users the option to share their content with the people they like. And to differentiate between the two it gave them indicators, that’s what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat. 

When a user uploads a private story on Snapchat it is indicated by a lock. When the lock is purple it means the story has not been viewed, and when the lock turns grey it means the story was viewed by the audience. That is the simple answer to the question “what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat.”

What Does The Purple Lock Mean On Snapchat?

what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat

Today it’s doing that by showing us the little purple lock on the screen tomorrow maybe the entire screen will be purple with the dog filter on us instead of the screen. Who knows what Snapchat technology will look like in the next 10 years? But one thing is for sure, whatever comes next will be much better than what we have today.

As we all know Snapchat’s main feature is to allow users to upload photos and videos in the form of stories that last up to 24 hours. This feature became so popular that it was copied by other mega platforms as well and now has become a staple on every social media app.

Have you ever uploaded a private story on Snapchat? Or have you ever viewed a Private Story on Snapchat? If you did any of those things then you already know the answer to the question what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat? If you haven’t ever done any of those things then sit tight because we will tell you everything about it.

If you are a Snapchat user then you already know how to upload a Snapchat story. Now it has two new additions, private stories and shared stories. Shared stories are uploaded by users for everyone in their profile, in fact, this feature allows the user to create a story for the story where they tag in friends who can then add to the story.

They can also add more people to the story group and those people can also add to the story. It’s a full procedure which you can check out in our other post. It has nothing to do with knowing what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat. The purple heart is significant to Private Story.

What Is A Private Story?

A Private Story, as the name suggests, is uploaded by the user for specific people only. These stories can only be seen by people chosen by the uploader. No other entity can view the story. These stories are uploaded by the user when they want to share something personal with only their close friends.

So how does a viewer differentiate between shared stories and private stories? Well, Snapchat has allotted indicators to every feature and that’s how we recognize them. So, when a user uploads a private story is signified by a purple outline and a lock in the middle. When the story is viewed by the targeted audience, it turns grey. That’s the full answer to what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat?

How To Upload Private Story On Snapchat?

Open snapchat>profile>new story>new private story>choose friends>type name and done!

Step 1: Go to your Snapchat Profile and click on the new story.

what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat

Step 2: Two options will appear, a new private story and a new shared story, select the former option.

what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat

Step 3: Select the number of friends you want to be your audience.

what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat

Step 4: Select a name for your private story and Voila! You are done.

what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat

This section will appear under my story and whenever you need to upload private stories, simply click on it, take a snap, and upload. It will appear as a separate story section for only your selected friends to see.

Also, See:

Wrapping Up!

I hope that this article has cleared your doubts and answered “what does the purple lock mean on Snapchat” for you. It’s very simple to learn actually, if you see someone upload a Snapchat story it will be shown with a purple outline on their profile bitmoji.

When you see there is a small purple lock on that outline it means that your friend has uploaded a private story and you are one lucky friend who will be able to see that story. Enjoy being a privileged friend.

Frequently Asked Questions-

Q1. Can we edit a Private Story?

Ans. Yes, we can edit a story in two ways. We can add more snaps to the story and we can also allow more people to see the story by adding them to the list. All you have to do is simply hit the three dots and click on edit story.

Q2. How can we see multiple stories on Snapchat?

Ans. If your friend has uploaded multiple snaps to their story, you can see all of them by tapping the right side of your screen. You can also tap the left side to see the previous snap.

Q3. What is the difference between a Private Story and a Shared Story?

Ans. A Private Story is uploaded by a user and shared with selected individuals on their profile. Whereas a Shared Story is shared with everyone and friends can be added to the story group so that they can add to the story and add more people.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.