Twitter Account Private: How to Protect Your Twitter Account

Everybody is aware of Twitter, which is a microblogging social media site that is used for tweeting and sharing the ideas and thoughts of the users. Like Instagram and other social media sites, Twitter also allows you to like and share the posts, you can also retweet the posts that you may like.

Privatizing your account on any platform is a very advised option to protect yourself from frauds and spammy people who can take the advantage of your open accounts. So, in this post, we will get to know more about how to privatize your account on Twitter.

Twitter Account Private: How To Protect Your Twitter Account

Privatizing your account on Twitter means that you don’t want unknown people to read your tweets, thoughts, and ideas that you are posting on our account. When you sign up to Twitter and you post something it will be visible to everyone and once you privatize your account, then it will be visible to specific people who are your friends on Twitter.

There are some more things that happen when you privatize your account, like-

When someone wants to follow you on Twitter, they will have to first send you a request and if you accept their follow request then only you can see their posts or tweets otherwise if they deny your request you will not be able to see their posts or tweets. Secondly, your tweets are not available on the search engines Twitter, which means your tweets are not accessible or readable to everyone on Twitter.

Further, if you post something on your private account, the people who can see your posts will not be able to retweet your post as they will not be able to see the retweet option below your post. Lastly, only your followers can search and find your tweets on Twitter. Sometimes people try to make a new account when they are not able to protect their old account, but it is necessary to delete the old account first as there might be some fraudulent users that may take advantage of your old account. If you are in search of how can you delete the old account you can read the full article here. How To Delete the Old Account On Twitter.

Twitter Account Private: How to Protect Your Twitter Account

There are a few steps that you will have to follow to privatize your Twitter account on different devices-

PRIVATIZING YOUR ACCOUNT ON TWITTER (ON PC)

Here are the steps that you can follow-

  1. First of all, go to the Twitter application or website from your PC and log into your account.
  2. On the left side, there is a sidebar, tap on it.
  3. Then, tap on settings and privacy.
  4. Now, tap on select accounts and you will see a page “Account Information”.
  5. There, click on protected tweets.
  6. Checkmark the box under “protect your tweets”.
  7. And, you are done privatizing your account on your PC.

How to Protect Your Twitter Account

Now, only your followers will be able to see your posts or tweets on Twitter and no one else will be able to see your post nor they can take the advantage of your public profile.

 

Also, see: Find out how to hide likes on Twitter

 

PRIVATIZING YOUR TWITTER ACCOUNT ON THE PHONE

Here are the steps-

  1. First of all, go to the Twitter application on your device and log into your account.
  2. Then, tap on your profile picture in the top left corner.
  3. Now, choose settings and privacy.
  4. Then, select privacy and safety.
  5. Turn on or toggle on Protect your tweets.

PHONE1

And, now you are done privatizing your Twitter account on your phone, which means no unknown will have the access to search or find your tweets on Twitter nor they could take the advantage of your open profile on Twitter.

But remember that, there are other means of seeing your tweets or photos such as by taking screenshots and transmitting them to the people that you haven’t been friends with. You might be thinking then what is the fun of privatizing your account when your pictures or tweets can be leaked through screenshots, however, it is advised to privatize your account for the sake of your own safety from the strangers on the internet that may cause trouble for you. Some people are also aware that their content should not be sensitive and they do not want to see sensitive content on their profiles. If you want to know more about sensitive content on Twitter you can read the full article here. How To Turn Off The Sensitive Content On Twitter.

In the need of protecting the accounts people try to delete the tweets from their accounts, but they do not know that it is possible to see the deleted tweets, if you want to know how you can read the full article here. How To See Deleted Tweets On Twitter.

ALSO READ- Top most 8 Twitter accounts to follow.

 

PRIVATIZE YOUR TWITTER ACCOUNT ON YOUR iPHONE

Here are the steps-

  1. First of all, go to the Twitter application on your device (iOS) and log into your account,
  2. Now, go to your profile by tapping on your profile picture in the top left corner.
  3. There, you have to click on settings and privacy, from there you have to click on privacy and safety.
  4. There, tap on the audience and tagging.
  5. In the end, turn on or toggle on Protect your Tweets.

 

And, you are done privatizing your account on Twitter on your iPhone. Now, no stranger or a person who is not your friend on Twitter will be able to see your posts or Tweets.

last1

HOW CAN YOU MANAGE THE FRIEND REQUESTS ON TWITTER

 

Also, see: How can you privatize your featured photos on Facebook?

 

Here are the steps that you have to follow to know about this trick-

  1. The foremost step is to open the Twitter application on your device.
  2. Then, tap on the bell icon (notification icon on Twitter).
  3. Now, tap on the notification to know about follow requests that you have received.
  4. Now, you will see the list of people who have sent you the following request, and this is totally up to you whether you want to accept their request or deny their request.

Wrapping up!

There are continuous adding in the features of Twitter that make our experience day-by-day better on the platform. I hope you all like this article and it might solve your problem. If you still have some questions you can surely ask us in the comment box and we would love to answer your all questions.

Till Then Happy Learning!

Frequently Asked Questions

Why would someone make their Twitter private?

A private Twitter account means that whatever you post on your account can only be seen by you and your friends who are with you on your profile on Twitter.  This also means that anyone who doesn’t follow you or doesn’t have permission to view your feed won’t be able to see your tweets.

Who sees my tweets if I have no followers?

Did you know that unless you have a private account people who don’t follow you can still see your Tweets? Even if you don’t have followers, your Tweets can be seen by anyone using the platform! 

By Eshita Gandotra

Hey! I'm Eshita and I'm 19. Currently, I'm pursuing my B.BA and I am also an associate content writer at AmericBuzz. I wish to provide the best content to the users of AmericBuzz that I have and share the knowledge with you that you need.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.