How To Create Shared Stories on Snapchat | Here’s How It Works In 2022
Table of Contents
How To Create Shared Stories on Snapchat?
What is the first thing that comes to mind when I say Snapchat? Let me guess, the dog filter. Well, you are not the first person to think so, because that’s exactly what made Snapchat such a big hit. I’m not just talking about the dog filter, but the entire idea of filters on photos, Snapchat was the pioneer of introducing this concept to social media, and now people will not stop licking their screen.
What made it even more unique was the idea of uploading photos that would last only 24 hours and conversations that would disappear after you leave the chat area. It made Snapchat the ideal social media platform for people who love taking GOOD photos and for people who appreciate privacy. And while all of this was great for building a brand, what is new? What could Snapchat do next?
The answer to that question is Shared Snapchat Stories, and yes, they are what they sound like. Snapchat has introduced some new features, and it includes one that allows you to upload Snapchat stories in collaboration with your friends. It will allow you to subsequently have a wider audience view your content. So if you and your friends like to collaborate, or if you are a Snapchat influencer, here is a way to widen your audience and build your brand.
What are Snapchat Stories?
Stories are photos or videos that a user uploads on their page that can only exist for 24 hours. If you are on any social media platform and you see a coloured circle around a user’s profile picture, it means that they have uploaded a story.
Snapchat was the first social media platform to introduce this concept. Instead of uploading a photo or a video that is not worth keeping on your page forever, Snapchat gave users an option to upload stuff that they won’t feel bad about being deleted later.
This feature is useful for users who went to a nice café and ate a delicious bagel. Not many people like to immortalize a bagel on their page, so with this app, they get an option to upload it on their Snapchat story. In this way, they can share it with their friends and also not have it on their profile forever.
Snapchat stories are the one of main ideas on which the platform runs. This feature became so popular that other social media platforms like Facebook and Instagram included it in their list of features.
What are Snapchat Shared Stories?
If you are familiar with the “remix this reel” feature on Instagram, then, in that case, it will not be hard to understand. As the name suggests, Snapchat Shared Stories is a feature that allows your friends to be a part of your snap stories by being more than just a tagged name. It is an upgrade to the Private Stories feature, which allows users to choose which friends would be able to see their stories.
With the Shared Stories feature, you can choose which friends can see and contribute to your stories. Yes, you read it right, users can collaborate and add to the snap stories of their friends. But how did Snapchat make it different is the real catch?
You see Shared Stories allows users to upload a story and invite others to join their stories, and those people can invite more people to join in. Friends and friends of friends (whoever are invited) can see these shared stories and contribute to them. The purpose is to make the content more engaging and fun by allowing more people to add to it.
How To Create Shared Stories On Snapchat To Snap With Friends?
If you find the concept intriguing then here are a few simple steps on how to create your own Shared Story on Snapchat:
Step 1: Open Snapchat.
Step 2: On the right side of “My Stories” you will see the option “New Story”, click on it.
Step 3: A pop-up menu will arrive with two options, “New Private Story” which is only visible to selected friends, and “New Shared Story”. The latter option will allow friends to view, post, and add new members to the story. Choose the latter option.
Step 4: Select the friends you want to share the story with.
Step 5: A dialogue box will appear asking for confirmation, click on “Continue”.
Step 6: Choose a name for your Story and hit “Done”.
Also, see: How To Get Back a Lost Snapchat Streak
How To Join a Shared Snapchat Story? Here’s Below
If your friend has added you to a shared story on Snapchat then you can not only view the story but also give your own contribution to the story and even add more people to it. You can view the story and add to it but you cannot reply to the story. Here is how you can join a Shared Story.
Step 1: Tap your “Avatar” on the top left corner.
Step 2: Click Add to [Friend’s] Shared Story under the “Shared Stories” icon.
Step 3: Take a snap, and if you want to add more friends tap +More Friends in the bottom left corner and choose the friends from your list. Once you’re done simply press Send.
What is the difference between Shared Story and My Story on Snapchat?
There are not many similarities between a My Snapchat Story and a shared one. Both get erased from the app after 24 hrs., and you can choose who can see the stories. Similarly, there are not many differences either, but mainly, what sets the two apart, besides the fact that people can add their own to your stories, is that Shared Stories don’t have the chat option.
Content moderation is said to be the reason for this change. Some new community review tools and automatic language detection techniques are helping the app in this regard.
Also, Snapchat will notify you immediately if a person you earlier blocked tries to join the Shared Story. It will allow users to regulate their audience and collaborators for their content.
Things to Consider While Creating A Shared Story
There are certain aspects to this new feature that make it more fun and safe for the users. Apart from giving users new features to explore, it makes the element of safety and privacy much stronger. The user who uploads the Shared Story can see who can view the Shared Story profile and also respond to their snaps.
There are mainly three roles in a Shared Story profile, the Owner, the Moderator, and the Member. Each has its role in the profile. Additionally, users can only upload 20 Shared Stories at one time.
Another thing to note here is that if the creator of the Shared Story deletes it, then the entire snap story streak in the profile contributed by everyone gets deleted. Apart from that, any contributor can delete their snaps in the profile.
Let me end this article How To Create Shared Stories On Snapchat by saying that just when everyone thought that Snapchat can’t upgrade to anything new, they pull a wild card. It makes me wonder what we can expect in the future. Who knows, maybe the dog filter will be able to tell you which dog breed you are, based on how you licked the screen. Until then, let me try my hands at creating a Shared Story and see how inspiring I can be.
Frequently Asked Question (FAQs)
Who can view your Shared Stories?
Shared Stories get viewed by friends whom you allow to see the story. These friends can then add their friends to the Shared Story group, and those friends can also view your Shared Story and contribute to it.
How are Private Stories different from Shared Stories?
Private Stories or Custom Stories are stories that get viewed by those friends whom you allow to see. The difference with Shared Stories is that only you can add content to the Private Stories, and your friends can’t add new members.
How to get notifications of Snap Stories?
Apart from getting message notifications, you can get notified when a friend of yours uploads a snap story. You can do this by simply going to the Notifications, clicking on manage Story Notifications, and selecting the names of friends you want to be notified about.